Author: Jonathan Spielberg

Slowpitch National Team Squad Announced

Sixty-one players registered to try out for the National Slowpitch Squads in February, and 58 attended over the three trial sessions. It was great to see both new and familiar faces representing the breadth of softball on the island. The coaching team was impressed with the level of commitment and the effort people made to travel to the sessions. They were also encouraged by the passion and potential demonstrated by the group of players.

While assessing the participants, the coaching team’s selection criteria considered technical ability, athleticism and all-round attitude. The longevity of the national squad program was also a factor, so the squad’s short-term and long-term goals were foremost in the selection process. 

We are pleased to announce the following extended squads for COED and Men’s. We want to congratulate those selected and look forward to working with them over the coming months.

Below is the list of 28 players selected for the extended COED squad. A panel of players will be selected from this squad to travel and represent Ireland at the European Championship in the Czech Republic in July.  

Christopher BarrBelfast CubsMike LucasAverage Joes
Brian ConnollyDoddder DynamoesKen McCarthyDodder Dynamoes
Serena CostelloeAverage JoesAbigail McConnellGalway Tribes
Cathal CreavenGalway TribesNorma McIntyreBatPak
Wayne CullenAverage JoesLuke MolloyHippetys
Darryl DolanAverage JoesMerilin NeilandAverage Joes
Katie DoyleHippetysPearse NewmanHippetys
Brian HehirLNZ LondonJennifer Ó BuachallaBatPak
Ashleigh HowardBearcats CastleknockGary O’SheaDodder Dynamoes
Eric KellyMunsterSalvador Rizo LopezBatPak
Hazel KilduffBatPakMary Carroll SmithGalway Tribes
Niall LaveryDodder DynamoesMegan SutcliffeDublin Bay Packers
Simon LewisBearcats CastleknockJulie TrundleDublin Bay Packers
Eimear LinehanDodder DynamoesPhil WallaceBSC Brawlers

Below is the list of players selected for an extended 24-man squad for the Men’s. Although the official 2024 Men’s tournament has been cancelled, the coaching team will provide the opportunity for this squad to train together over the summer. 

Christopher BarrBelfast CubsSimon LewisBearcats Castleknock
James CallowBSC BrawlerMike LucasAverage Joes
Lorcan CarbinGalway TribesAidan LynskeyAverage Joes
Jason CheungAshbourne AntlersPaddy MeehanBatPak
Brian ConnollyDodder DynamoesLuke MolloyHippetys
Cathal CreavenGalway TribesKevin MullanNewtownabbey Phoenix
Wayne CullenAverage JoesPearse NewmanHippetys
Darryl DolanAverage JoesEoin O’ConnorOaktown Brew Crew, Oakland CA
JP DolanSuffolk County Police TeamGary O’SheaDodder Dynamoes
Brian HehirLNZ LondonSalvador Rizo LopezBatPak
Eric KellyMunsterShane SheridanAverage Joes
Niall LaveryDodder DynamoesPhil WallaceBSC Brawlers

Peter Mullen
Head Coach

BWC Update

As of last week, the initial 16 team spots for the Brian Walshe Cup have been filled. We may have more spots open up the week before the tournament but we want teams to secure their attendance by paying a 50% non-refundable deposit of €75 to hold your team’s spot. Payments must be received no later than the 5th of April or teams will lose their spot. If your team no longer wants to enter they can relinquish their spot for the BWC by emailing

Here’s a little history about the Brian Walshe Cup. Named after the Odd Sox Green player Brian Walshe – there is a great writeup about who Brian Walshe was which can be found here. The tournament used to be scheduled on multiple days throughout the season, usually on a bank Holiday Monday with Prem and 1st division teams potentially playing 2nd and 3rd division teams. After the first game, losing teams would be grouped into a lower division and winning teams would continue to play until an all-day final at the end of the year would determine the Brian Walshe Cup winner. There were a lot of walkovers and forfeits during the year, along with a lot of one-sided victories and with so many blitzes scheduled throughout the year, it was decided that it would be better to honour Brian Walshe by renaming one of SI’s most popular tournaments of the year – the Start of Season Blitz (SOSB) after Brian Walshe. So, the BWC SOSB continues and now just one month from today – Saturday the 20th of April 2024 the softball season will officially begin! Hope to see you there!

Don’t Forget! Send in your deposit – either by bank transfer or Revolut (bank details can be requested) to SI to hold your BWC spot or email if you want to let your spot go. Thanks!

News from the SI AGM

The Softball Ireland AGM was held on March 3, 2024 in ALSAA. 27 of the 44 teams that were registered with Softball Ireland in 2023 were in attendance or sent in Proxy votes for the Secretary position as well as two Constitutional amendments that were proposed. With only one person going forward, Jonathan Spielberg was confirmed as the new Softball Ireland Secretary. In addition to the secretary, Regional and Discipline representatives – Vinny McGrane for Softball Connacht Munster, Anke Klitzing for Softball Leinster, Brendan Sweeney for Softball Ulster and Melanie Cunningham for Fastpitch were all ratified by the members for the 2024 Board. Many thanks were given to outgoing Secretary Steven Trundle whose last act as Secretary was to complete the minutes of the AGM. Those minutes will be circulated after the first sitting of the new Softball Ireland board.

Other highlights from the AGM included an update from Softball Ireland President Colum Lavery and a Medical update from Dr. Melanie Cunningham. The AGM agreed to delay the approval of the Financial Statements to help clarify some questions raised on the reporting format following the implementation of a new accounting software. Emailed questions from the membership will be answered and SI will be looking for an approval of the accounts electronically in the coming weeks.

The most exciting news for Softball Ireland Members was the IOST announcement for the 17th and 18th of August in MTU Cork. This being the third year held there and Declan Carty, the Competitions Officer for SI, worked hard to secure the venue and organise accommodation. More details about the IOST will be released soon.