Day: 10 September 2018

Ireland Finish 8th at World Series 2018

As part of its preparations for the 2019 European Championships, Ireland traveled to London to play in the annual World Series tournament hosted by the BSF. Ireland went 3 & 2 on day 1 of the tournament, beating the Netherlands and Japan and Scotland, losing to GB Masters and then losing out agonizingly to a place in the top 6 with a tough loss to England in the bottom of the 7th inning in the last game of the day.

Day 2 saw Ireland in the Plate tournament and were in a group consisting of Canada and the other Irish team, the Leinster Craicers. Ireland beat Canada in game 1 and in a tight game 2, needed to dig deep and come from behind to beat the Craicers.

After topping its group, Ireland entered the Page System with two chances of making the final, and needed both chances. First up was the other group winners Czech Republic, Ireland led for the majority of the game but Czech game back strong to win the game over the last two innings of the contest. Ireland’s second chance to make the final came against Africa, this time Ireland made no mistakes and led from start to finish, in the end comfortable beating one of the stronger teams of the tournament. The final was a repeat of the earlier game but this time Czech came out firing and took an early lead which they never gave up and ended up comfortable winners in the Plate final with Ireland finishing eight. A worthwhile tournament with lots of learnings in preparation for the 2019 European Championships.

Ireland World Series Roster

Head Coach: Senan Dormer

Ciara Walsh Barry Casey
Elaine Barr Brian Hehir
Norma McIntyre Chris Barr
Phoebe Louisa Niall Lavery
Ruth Casey Simon Lewis
Ruth Concannon
Shawna Walsh

SINCC 2018 Rosters Announced

Belfast Softball Club and Dodder Softball Club have announced their expanded rosters ahead of the 2018 SINCC final to be played in Dublin on Saturday September 15, 2018. Both teams will submit their final 18 player roster on September 15. The SINCC winners will be crowned national champions and also qualify as Ireland’s representative to the 2020 European Slopitch Super Cup.

Softball Ireland National Club Championships

September 15, 2018 – Stanaway Park Dublin @1230

Expanded Rosters

Belfast Softball Club  Dodder Softball Club
Philip Wallace Ken McCarthy
Sean Gottschalk John McCarthy
Tom Napier Frank Geoghegan
Jay Manticahon Leo Farrell
Nathaniel McQueen Carl Ward
Mark White John Austin
Andy Lamont Brian Connolly
Kevin Havekes Stephen Carter
Ryan Kerr Derek Ward
James Calow Ciaran Darcy
Patrick Scullion Andrew O’Hanlon
Richard Simpson Niall Lavery
Glyn Rees Tim Healy
Elaine Barr Graham Sullivan
Deb Gray Jordan Sylver
Audrey Osborne Shawna Walsh
Irena Mihneva Ciara Walsh
Emily Davison Olwen Barrett
Kerry Gottschalk Ruth Brady
Christina Carty Sara Radics
Orlaigh Connor Ashley Downs
Amandine Ledru Noeleen McCarthy
Niamh Donegan Susan McCarthy
Janice Ward
Meabh Hogan
Katerina Prazakova
Siobhain Monerawela